facts and tidbits

page 2


The unofficial
island continent
of Nesia


Nesia has three major insular groupings: Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia.

Meanings of the three
Nesia continent divisions

Greek to English translations:

Nesia = islands
Poly = many
Mela = black
Micro = small


Polynesia = many islands
Melanesia = black islands
Micronesia = small islands


Together, the three areas cover much of the Pacific Ocean.

Learn More

for first Polynesia Facts page

More Polynesia tips and insights

French Polynesia

French Polynesia - Intro
Bora Bora
Nuku Hiva
Fatu Hiva
Ua Pou


Hawaii Volcanoes NP
Na Pali Coast
Waimea Canyon

Other Polynesian areas

Easter Island
Aitutaki  Cook Islands
Upolu  Western Samoa
Vava'u  Tonga

More Polynesia pages

Polynesia wonder map
French Polynesia map & tips
Interesting facts and tidbits
Polynesia photo gallery
Gauguin painting gallery


Tahiti Tourism


Share this page

World's Top 100 Wonders
World's Top 1000 Wonders

Site map
My credentials
About my website and criteria
Reader testimonials